• Skills assessments are issued by relevant skills assessing authorities. A skill assessing authority is an organisation that checks that your skills meet the standards they set to work in a relevant occupation.
  • The combined list of eligible skilled occupations sets out all relevant occupations under 4 occupation lists. Most occupations in each list have their own skills assessing authority. 
  • We at IME Advisors ensure that you obtain a skill assessment which is issued by the relevant assessing authority. Each assessing authority has its own assessment procedures, timeframes and charges.
  • Obtaining a suitable skills assessment is mandatory for some visa subclasses (and streams) and may be requested for others. Professionals at IME Advisors can help you determine if you need to submit a skills assessment and when you need to obtain it.

You might need a skills assessment if you apply for the following visas and streams:

1. General Skilled Migration (GSM) visas

  • Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) — Points tested stream
  • Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional (provisional) visa (subclass 489) — Invited Pathway
  • Skilled Work Regional (provisional) visa (subclass 491)

2. Employer Sponsored Visas
3. Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (TSS)
4. Temporary Graduate Visa (Subclass 485) – Graduate Work Stream


We at IME Advisors specialize in dealing with the following skills assessing authorities:

  • AACA – Architects Accreditation Council of Australia, Inc
  • AASW – Australian Association of Social Workers
  • ACS – Australian Computer Society
  • AIM – Australian Institute of Management
  • AIMS – Australian Institute of Medical Scientists
  • AITSL – Australian Institute of Teaching and School Leadership
  • AIQS – Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors
  • AIWCW – Australian Institute of Welfare and Community Workers
  • ANCI – Australian Nursing Council Incorporated
  • APEC – Australian Pharmacy Examining Council Inc
  • ASCPA – Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants
  • CPA Australia – Chartered Professional Accounting Australia
  • EA – Engineers Australia
  • ICAA – Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia
  • IPA – Institute of Public Accountants
  • ISA – Institution of Surveyors, Australia
  • TRA – Trades Recognition Australia
  • VETASSESS – Vocational Education and Training Assessment Services
Skills Assessments